Depressed young adult man sitting alone mental illness health concept

Houston Domestic Violence Lawyers

Few things are worse than being charged with a crime, especially when the crime in question is particularly damaging to a person’s life and reputation. If you are under investigation for domestic violence, you need a seasoned legal team who can defend you and protect your legal rights. Contact the dedicated Houston domestic violence lawyers at the Sparks Law Firm today to schedule a free and confidential consultation.

Domestic Violence Lawyers | Here to Protect Your Reputation & Future

Are you accused of an act of violence against a household member, such as your spouse? If so, you need to hire our team of dedicated Harris County criminal defense lawyers who can help protect your future. The Sparks Law Firm has decades of experience representing those accused of domestic violence here in Texas, and we are here to put that experience to work for you as well.

Domestic Violence Defined Under Texas Law

Domestic violence falls within the general assault definition in the Texas Penal Code. A person commits an assault if that person:

  • Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another, including the person’s spouse;
  • Intentionally or knowingly threatens another with imminent bodily injury, including the person’s spouse.

Penalties for Domestic Violence in Texas

If you are accused of domestic violence, you will likely either be charged with a Class A misdemeanor offense or a Class C misdemeanor offense. A Class C misdemeanor domestic violence charge, meaning you allegedly threatened to harm another or engaged in “offensive contact,” can warrant a $500 fine. A Class A misdemeanor domestic violence offense, meaning you allegedly caused the victim to sustain a bodily injury, can warrant up to one year of jail time and a potential $4,000 fine.

Aggravated Domestic Assault in Texas

If you are found guilty of causing serious bodily injury to a victim or used/threatened to use a deadly weapon while committing an act of domestic violence, you will likely face aggravated domestic violence charges, which, rather obviously, come with harsher penalties. In most cases, aggravated assault is treated as a second-degree felony, which can entail between two and 20 years of incarceration and a $10,000 fine.

You should note, however, that if the assault both caused serious injury and a deadly weapon was used, you’ll likely face first-degree felony charges, which can warrant anywhere between five and 99 years of incarceration and a $10,000 fine.

Contact Out Texas Domestic Violence Lawyers Today

Anyone facing accusations of domestic violence needs a competent legal team in their corner. Contact the seasoned domestic violence lawyers at the Sparks Law Firm today to schedule your free initial consultation with our dedicated Houston criminal defense firm.

Website Designed & Managed by